Kiefer Sutherland Gets Up for Debut Album, “Down In a Hole”

Kiefer Sutherland Gets Up for Debut Album, “Down In a Hole”

You know him as Jack Bauer on FOX’s TV Series 24 and from such movies as Stand By Me, The Lost Boys, Young Guns and Flatliners, but now you get to know Kiefer Sutherland as a country music singer.

f4130f1b-9982-4bbd-bd34-148f6c6d9a99The singer/actor has released his debut album, Down In a Hole—which he calls a passion project—consisting of 11 co-written tracks, including the single, “Can’t Stay Away.”

“It’s the closest thing I’ve ever had to a journal or diary,”  said Kiefer. “All of these songs are pulled from my own personal experiences. As much as I enjoyed the writing and recording process, I am experiencing great joy now begin able to play these songs to a live audience, which was something I hadn’t counted on.”

While Kiefer playing country music might come as a surprise to some, his interest in music spans many years. In 2002, he started a small record label called Ironworks with his best friend, Jude Cole, to record local musicians and distribute their music. He has since left the label but continued writing songs that have eventually been compiled to create his debut album, Down In A Hole.

“The one thing I’ve come to understand is that as a musician or as a player or a as songwriter, my interest is really to try and tell a story—very much as I do as an actor,” Kiefer told Nash Country Daily. “It’s an extension of that. I’m not Whitney Houston by any stretch of the imagination and I’m not trying to be.”

Kiefer has already achieved a milestone in his music career that every country music singer hopes to reach—making his debut on the Grand Ole Opry. On May 31, 2016, Kiefer took the stage and stood in that revered circle—where many country legends have stood—to perform his song “Not Enough Whiskey.”

“The depth of humility that I felt standing [on the Opry stage] was quite overwhelming and it made the show go like a blurr—it was over so fast,” Kiefer said of his Opry debut. “Having said that, the joy to being able to play with those incredible players and the smiles on the faces of this band that I’ve been playing with for a year—I’ve never seen smile like that ever—so that was extraordinary. The audience was so incredibly gracious and the people backstage were so nice. It’s such a huge experience, it’s going to take me a few days to be able to try to  summarize that but just humility was really the thing that I felt the most.”

Kiefer has just wrapped up a North American tour and will be announcing dates for a fall tour soon. Kiefer will also be returning to television on Sept. 21 when he stars in ABC’s new series Designated Survivor and you can catch his musical appearance on Jimmy Kimmel Live! on Aug. 24 where he’ll perform “Can’t Stay Away.”

Down In A Hole Track Listing

1.    Can’t Stay Away
2.    Truth In Your Eyes
3.    I’ll Do Anything
4.    Not Enough Whiskey
5.    Going Home
6.    Calling Out Your Name
7.    My Best Friend
8.    Shirley Jean
9.    All She Wrote
10.  Down In A Hole
11.  Gonna Die

Daily Dose

Thomas Rhett Will Never Take Touring for Granted

Thomas Rhett Will Never Take Touring for Granted

Thomas Rhett is ready to hit the road and Bring The Bar To You in 2022!

Starting in June, Thomas will kick-off his Bring The Bar To You tour with back to back shows in Gilford, New Hampshire with openers Parker McCollum and Conner Smith.

After going through the last two years, Thomas says, “I’ll never take for granted being able to come see y’all and I’m so fired up to play some of these new ones that were made with these nights in mind. I have a feeling things are going to get loud – I’m counting down the days already!”

Photo Courtesy of Thomas Rhett