Earls of Leicester, Balsam Range, Flatt Lonesome & More Nominated for International Bluegrass Awards [Full List]

Earls of Leicester, Balsam Range, Flatt Lonesome & More Nominated for International Bluegrass Awards [Full List]

Nominees for the 2017 International Bluegrass Music Awards were announced today (July 26) at a press conference in Nashville, with more than a few notable names leading the way.

The Earls of Leicester, the reigning IBMA Entertainers of the Year, copped five nominations as a band and three individual nominations, while Balsam Range netted six nominations as a group and two individual nominations.

In addition, it was announced that three acts will be inducted into the International Bluegrass Hall of Fame: duo Hazel Dickens & Alice Gerrard, fiddle virtuoso Bobby Hicks and musician Roland White.

Winners will be announced at the International Bluegrass Music Awards on Sept. 28 at the Duke Energy Performing Arts Center in Raleigh, N.C.

Hosted by Béla Fleck and Abigail Washburn, the International Bluegrass Music Awards will feature a live performance from Steve Martin and the Steep Canyon Rangers—their only one this year—in support of their new record, The Long-Awaited Album.

Here is the full list of nominees.

Entertainer of the Year
Balsam Range
Doyle Lawson & Quicksilver
The Earls of Leicester
Flatt Lonesome
The Gibson Brothers

Vocal Group of the Year
Balsam Range
Blue Highway
Doyle Lawson & Quicksilver
Flatt Lonesome
The Gibson Brothers

Instrumental Group of the Year 
Balsam Range
The Earls of Leicester
Frank Solivan & Dirty Kitchen
Michael Cleveland & Flamekeeper
Punch Brothers

Song of the Year
“Blue Collar Dreams,” Balsam Range (artist), Aaron Bibelhauser (writer)
“Going Back to Bristol,” Shawn Camp (artist), Mac Wiseman/Thomm Jutz/Peter Cooper (writers)
“I Am a Drifter,” Volume Five (artist), Donna Ulisse/Marc Rossi (writers)
“Someday Soon,” Darin & Brooke Aldridge (artist), Ian Tyson (writer)
“The Train That Carried My Girl from Town,” The Earls of Leicester (artist), Frank Hutchison (writer)

Album of the Year
Fiddler’s Dream, Michael Cleveland
In the GroundThe Gibson Brothers
Mountain Voodoo, Balsam Range
Original, Bobby Osborne
Rattle & Roar, The Earls of Leicester

Gospel Recorded Performance of the Year
“Give Me Jesus,” Larry Cordle
“Hallelujah,” Blue Highway
“I Found a Church Today,” The Gibson Brothers
“Sacred Memories,” Joe Mullins & The Radio Ramblers with Ricky Skaggs and Sharon White Skaggs
“Wish You Were Here,” Balsam Range

Instrumental Recorded Performance of the Year
“Fiddler’s Dream,” Michael Cleveland
“Great Waterton,” Kristin Scott Benson
“Greenbrier,” Sam Bush
“Little Liza Jane,” Adam Steffey
“Flint Hill Special,” The Earls of Leicester

Emerging Artist of the Year
Front Country
The Lonely Heartstring Band
Molly Tuttle
Sister Sadie
Volume Five

Recorded Event of the Year
“East Virginia Blues,” Ricky Wasson and Dan Tyminski
“Going Back to Bristol,” Shawn Camp with Mac Wiseman, Peter Cooper, Thomm Jutz
“I’ve Gotta Get a Message to You,” Bobby Osborne with Sierra Hull, Alison Brown, Rob Ickes, Stuart Duncan, Trey Hensley, Todd Phillips, Kenny Malone, Claire Lynch and Bryan McDowell
“Steamboat Whistle Blues,” Michael Cleveland featuring Sam Bush
“‘Tis Sweet to Be Remembered,” Mac Wiseman and Alison Krauss

Male Vocalist of the Year
Shawn Camp
Eric Gibson
Leigh Gibson
Buddy Melton
Russell Moore

Female Vocalist of the Year
Brooke Aldridge
Dale Ann Bradley
Sierra Hull
Amanda Smith
Molly Tuttle

Banjo Player
Ned Luberecki
Joe Mullins
Noam Pikelny
Kristin Scott Benson
Sammy Shelor

Bass Player
Barry Bales
Alan Bartram
Mike Bub
Missy Raines
Tim Surrett

Fiddle Player
Becky Buller
Jason Carter
Michael Cleveland
Stuart Duncan
Patrick McAvinue
Ron Stewart

Dobro Player
Jerry Douglas
Andy Hall
Rob Ickes
Phil Leadbetter
Josh Swift

Guitar Player
Jim Hurst
Kenny Smith
Bryan Sutton
Molly Tuttle
Josh Williams

Mandolin Player
Jesse Brock
Sam Bush
Sierra Hull
Frank Solivan
Adam Steffey

International Bluegrass Hall of Fame Inductees
Hazel Dickens and Alice Gerrard
Bobby Hicks
Roland White

Distinguished Achievement Award recipients
Norman Blake
Fletcher Bright
Silver Dollar City
Louisa Branscomb

main photo: Earls of Leicester courtesy of Anthony Scarlati/Concord Music Group

Daily Dose

Sophomore Symphony

Sophomore Symphony

Russell Dickerson will release his sophomore album, Southern Symphony, on Dec. 4. The 10-song project features his recent No. 1 lead single, “Love You Like I Used To.” photo by TCD