Loretta Lynn Announces Sept. 28 Release Date of New Album, “Wouldn’t It Be Great” [Listen to Title Track]

Loretta Lynn Announces Sept. 28 Release Date of New Album, “Wouldn’t It Be Great” [Listen to Title Track]

More than 15 months after suffering a stroke in May 2017, Loretta Lynn has announced plans to release her new studio album, Wouldn’t It Be Great, on Sept. 28. The album was originally slated to drop in August 2017, but Loretta’s recovery rightfully took priority.

“This new record means so much to me, but this last year I had to focus on my health and I decided to hold up the release,” said Loretta. “I’m feelin’ good and look forward to it comin’ out. It was really important to me to be a part of it being released and I’m excited to celebrate with everybody.”

All of the tunes on the new 13-song offering were penned or co-penned by Loretta. Like the album’s predecessor, the Grammy-nominated Full Circle (March 2016), Wouldn’t It Be Great was mainly recorded at the Cash Cabin Studio in Hendersonville, Tenn., with producers Patsy Lynn Russell and John Carter Cash.

The album features new songs “Ruby’s Stool,” “Ain’t No Time to Go,” “I’m Dying for Someone to Live For” and more, alongside newly recorded renditions of past compositions such as “God Makes No Mistakes,” “Coal Miner’s Daughter” and “Don’t Come Home A’ Drinkin’ (With Lovin’ on Your Mind).”

The album’s title track, which is the last song Loretta wrote for her late husband, Oliver “Doolittle” Lynn, can be heard below.

Wouldn’t It Be Great Track List & Songwriters

  1. “Wouldn’t It Be Great” (Loretta Lynn)
  2. “Ruby’s Stool” (Loretta Lynn, Shawn Camp)
  3. “I’m Dying for Someone to Live For” (Loretta Lynn, Shawn Camp)
  4. “Another Bridge to Burn” (Loretta Lynn, Lola Jean Dillon)
  5. “Ain’t No Time to Go” (Loretta Lynn, Patsy Lynn Russell)
  6. “God Makes No Mistakes” (Loretta Lynn)
  7. “These Ole Blues” (Loretta Lynn, Patsy Lynn Russell)
  8. “My Angel Mother” (Loretta Lynn)
  9. “Don’t Come Home a Drinkin’” (Loretta Lynn, Peggy Sue Wells)
  10. “The Big Man” (Loretta Lynn, Shawn Camp)
  11. “Lulie Vars” (traditional, arrangement by Loretta Lynn)
  12. “Darkest Day” (Loretta Lynn)
  13. “Coal Miner’s Daughter” (Loretta Lynn)

photo by Tammie Arroyo, AFF-USA.com

Daily Dose

Great Start

Great Start

Chris Stapleton will release his new studio album, Starting Over, on Nov. 13. The 14-track offering features 11 songs that Chris co-penned, including the title track, which is the album’s lead single.