Lil Nas X & Billy Ray Cyrus Win Two BET Hip Hop Awards for “Old Town Road”

Lil Nas X & Billy Ray Cyrus Win Two BET Hip Hop Awards for “Old Town Road”

Lil Nas X and Billy Ray Cyrus took home two trophies for their smash hit, “Old Town Road,” at the BET Hip Hop Awards, which aired on Oct. 8 from Atlanta.

“Old Town Road” won Best Collab/Duo or Group, besting nominations from Cardi B and Bruno Marks (“Please Me”), DJ Khaled, Nipsey Hussle and John Legend (“Higher”) and more.

In addition, the smash hit, which spent a record 19 weeks at No. 1 on the Billboard Hot 100 chart, won Single of the Year, besting nominations from Cardi B (“Money”), Suge (“Dababy”) and more.

“Thank you to the BET Hip Hop Awards and hip hop/rap community for the Best Collab and Single of the Year wins,” said Billy Ray. “You kept OTR at No. 1 for 19 consecutive weeks. More importantly, you made me feel welcomed into your home and world. I’m dedicating these wins to Mr. Nipsey Hussle—a legend gone way too soon.”

“Old Town Road” is nominated for Musical Event of the Year at the upcoming CMA Awards in November.

photo by Tammie Arroyo,

Daily Dose

Chris Young Earns 3 CMA Award Nominations

Chris Young Earns 3 CMA Award Nominations

Congrats to Chris Young who is a 3-time CMA Award nominee this year.

His song “Famous Friends”, which he sings with Kane Brown, racked up nominations in the categories of Single, Musical Event, and Video of the Year.

Talking about his nominations, Chris says “I was blown away by the fact that there were three award nominations for the song. I mean, there’s so much that’s gone into it and so many people that have fallen in love with it and supported it and, you know, just having a hit with your friend in the first place is great with a song like “Famous Friends” with my buddy Kane Brown, but then to be nominated for three different CMA Awards, including Single of the Year. It’s just incredible.”

Chris, Kane and all the other nominees will learn if they’re taking home trophies, when the 55th Annual CMA Awards are handed out in Nashville on Wednesday November 10 – broadcasted live on ABC.

Photo Credit: Jeff Johnson