CMT Announces 2020 “Next Women of Country” Class & Tour

CMT Announces 2020 “Next Women of Country” Class & Tour

CMT revealed its 2020 Next Women of Country class during its seventh annual showcase at the CMA Theater at the Country Music Hall of Fame on Nov. 12.

Martina McBride introduced the 2020 class, which included Abbey Cone, Avenue Beat, Caylee Hammack, Gabby Barrett, Hailey Whitters, Kylie Morgan, Madison Kozak, Renee Blair, Sycamore, Tiera and Walker County.

CMT also announced that Tanya Tucker will headline the 2020 CMT Next Women of Country Tour. Supporting acts, venues and ticket information will be announced in the coming weeks.

In addition, Brandi Carlile received CMT’s 2019 Impact Award for her “contributions to songwriting, recording, radio airplay, record sales, streams, media impressions, awards and touring in country music over the past year.

photos: Caylee Hammack by Curtis Hilbun; Gabby Barrett by Tammie Arroyo,

Daily Dose

Chris Young Earns 3 CMA Award Nominations

Chris Young Earns 3 CMA Award Nominations

Congrats to Chris Young who is a 3-time CMA Award nominee this year.

His song “Famous Friends”, which he sings with Kane Brown, racked up nominations in the categories of Single, Musical Event, and Video of the Year.

Talking about his nominations, Chris says “I was blown away by the fact that there were three award nominations for the song. I mean, there’s so much that’s gone into it and so many people that have fallen in love with it and supported it and, you know, just having a hit with your friend in the first place is great with a song like “Famous Friends” with my buddy Kane Brown, but then to be nominated for three different CMA Awards, including Single of the Year. It’s just incredible.”

Chris, Kane and all the other nominees will learn if they’re taking home trophies, when the 55th Annual CMA Awards are handed out in Nashville on Wednesday November 10 – broadcasted live on ABC.

Photo Credit: Jeff Johnson